Do names still have a gender?

 

You may have heard by now that Jessica Simpson finally popped out a lil one after the longest pregnancy in history (probably not but lets not pretend we weren’t thinking it.)  The second tidbit is that she named her little girl Maxwell Drew.  The comments have been going off a bit at this info.  “but that’s 2 boys names?”  I will not lie a few comments tickled me a bit and made me think she really does have a good sense of humour, but the former was honestly my first thought. Luckily my developed brain then skipped straight into, What right do I have to judge what gender a name is? I expect the first girl or boy to be called Sydney would not appreciate it.

About.com has a list of 121 Unisex names and I’m sure there is more added to this list everyday including Maxwell.  It’s universally accepted that Bailey can be either a girl or a boy. An let’s face it, everybody knows that you can’t look at a baby and be able to tell it’s a boy or girl. However, people get so worked up about it like the downfall of the world came with the non-gender specific onesie/romper or, baby jeebus help us, if you happen to dress a boy in pink.  Just stop confusing people, you hippies!

Moral here is, it’s not my place or yours to judge what gender a name is.  Save your pity and confusion for the sadly misspelled phonetic ones like Shy-anne, DestyNeigh, Madisyn.

Pictures courtesy of TheAge & AP, Funny Photos, Missworld.tumblr.com

1 Comment

Filed under Bitch, celebrity, cute, Feminista, Home truths

One response to “Do names still have a gender?

  1. I agree. Why don’t people just start putting nametages on their babies? That would help me out so much!

Leave a Reply

